Apr 7, 2014

Books, Books, and More Books

There are so many books that I want to read. Some that have been out for a really long time and others that aren't even out yet. It doesn't help when you fall into a reading slump and you find yourself exploring Goodreads adding more and more books to the ever growing to-be-read list. I've been in a slump for a while now. I think I totally jinked myself when I wrote up a post about how I was doing really well with my Goodreads challenge and how that never happens. Few days later? SLUMP OF ALL SLUMPS.

I've also had a lot going on though too with the passing of my family's dog and other things but I still am thinking jink. But anyways I wanted to share some of the books I've been really eager to read and see if maybe they are some that you all are eager to read as well. Or if not what books have been or are newly on your to-be-read list? Let me know in the comments! Here are a few books I really need to get reading!



In the Forest of the Dead, where the empire’s worst criminals are exiled, twin sisters Moria and Ashyn are charged with a dangerous task. For they are the Keeper and the Seeker, and each year they must quiet the enraged souls of the damned.

Only this year, the souls will not be quieted.

Ambushed and separated by an ancient evil, the sisters’ journey to find each other sends them far from the only home they’ve ever known. Accompanied by a stubborn imperial guard and a dashing condemned thief, the girls cross a once-empty wasteland, now filled with reawakened monsters of legend, as they travel to warn the emperor. But a terrible secret awaits them at court—one that will alter the balance of their world forever.



I am a big Kelley Armstrong fan and will read anything from her. I adored her two young adult series and am really excited that she is writing another young adult book. The cover is amazing but I do have to admit the summary doesn't do it for me like her other books did. But because I am so familiar with her writing I have no doubt that it will be good. This is Kelley Armstrong after all.



"One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time."

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase's family embraces Samantha - even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha's world. She's suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.


I was so exited about My  Life Next Door before it was even out. I think it's been out for a while and I just recently got around to buying a copy. And now that I have it sitting on my bookshelf where I see it everyday I am almost a hundred percent sure that this will be my next read after I finish the book I am currently reading. I am a sucker for stories like this one and I've heard so many good things about it! Time I read it.



The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary’s best friend, Simon, can’t help her—his mother just found out that he’s a vampire, and now he’s homeless. When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace.


 A part of me really does not want to read this book. Don't get me wrong I am a huge fan of the first three books. I loved them and I though City of Ashes was ended so well that I almost wish it would have stayed just three books rather than having more. But then again I'm kind of curious where these characters are now after that fantastic ending. But I've also seen some spoilers and I know it's not in a very good place. I AM SO TORN GUYS. I just don't know.  I'm so eager and then not so eager at the same time.



An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.


I have been really excited about this one for a while. The story sounds so good and the fact the author is super nice on all her social media sites makes the book even that more appealing. And that cover? Totally sucks me in. I've been wanting to read more books like this one set in Dystopian worlds and I really have a feeling I'll like this one. 


Those are a few I am really eager to read! There are many, many more but these were the first four to come to mind. :)

3 comments:

  1. I hope you find a book to pull you out of your reading slump! So far I've only read the first Mortal Instruments book, which I enjoyed, yet I feel no pull to pick up the second =/

    Amanda @ Born Bookish

    ReplyDelete
  2. My Life Next Door is so good! Read it! It's such a cute contemporary romance. I personally am not a fan of the continuation of The Mortal Instruments. I liked the first three so much, and the fourth and fifth didn't really do it for me, but I've heard different opinions. Hope you enjoy your books!

    Taylor @ Reading is the Thing

    ReplyDelete
  3. I just recently read My Life Next Door and I'm so glad I did! It was such a good book. I haven't read any of the new TMI books. I really tried to get into them, but I loved the first three too much. I wish she'd just ended it there. I don't think I'll ever read the new ones. I did love the Infernal Devices series though.

    ReplyDelete